When we’re building a new WordPress powered website one of the very first things we do in the setup process is create the first admin user. The email address associated becomes the main admin for the site. You can see this under
Settings > General:
This address is used for notifications of WordPress updates and in our case, default Gravity Forms notifications. This is great during development, but what about once the site has gone live and you hand it over to the customer?
The WordPress way
WordPress implemented this change late last year in the 4.9 release and was done for security reasons. Here’s what was said during the announcement:
A few account security enhancements have gone into WordPress 4.9. The intention is to make it more difficult for an attacker to take over a user account or a site by changing the email address associated with the user or the site, and also to reduce the chance of a mistaken or erroneous change causing you to get locked out.
If you update the email from the WordPress admin area, the change is not immediately made. A series of emails are sent out and a confirmation link must be clicked:
Once confirmed, the new email address is set, and the previous email is sent a notification.
For most users, this is the preferred way to update the admin email account.
Updating without going through the confirmation process
We like to set the admin email upon launch to the site owner. Launch day is usually a pretty hectic affair and adding another request to the owner’s list is not always easy or a good idea. So here’s the simple way to do it without having them confirm:
phpMyAdmin to the rescue
Like many things, the WordPress MySQL database is a good place to go for changes. The WordPress admin email can be updated from the database as well. Here’s how:
- Log into the database. phpMyAdmin is a good choice.
- Locate the
- Near the top locate the
- Edit the
option_valuefield with the new email. This can be done either inline, or by editing depending on your version of phpMyAdmin
- Save your work if it wasn’t auto-saved